Release Soyuz Rocket With OneWeb Telecom Satellites

Release Soyuz Rocket With OneWeb Telecom Satellites

The release of a Soyuz rocket carrying 36 UK telecommunication and Internet satellites has been postponed until Friday, the Russian space agency Roscosmos said.

The launch of the rocket operated by European company Arianespace was scheduled for 17:43 GMT (11:13pm IST) on Thursday from the Vostochny cosmodrome in Russia’s Far East.

“For technical reasons, the launch…has been postponed to the reserve date,” Roscosmos said in a statement on Thursday.

The space agency added that the postponed launch will take place on Friday, May 28 at 17:38 GMT (11:08pm IST).

OneWeb, a London-headquartered company, is working to finish the construction of a constellation of low Earth orbit satellites providing enhanced broadband and other services to countries around the world.

The launch was postponed “due to the replacement of one item of electrical equipment,” launch operator Arianespace said on Twitter.

It added that the Soyuz rocket and the satellites are in “stable and safe condition”.

Digi Skynet

Digi Skynet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: