Lunar Eclipse 2021: Blood Moon Will Become Visible Today

Lunar Eclipse 2021: Blood Moon Will Become Visible Today

Blood Moon 2021 is showing in the skies today (May 26). This will be the first — and the last — Blood Moon of 2021, and it will be visible to sight seener in various parts of the world. However, in India, it is expected to appear as a penumbral lunar eclipse for five minutes. Probably known as total lunar eclipse or purna chandra grahan in Hindi, a Blood Moon appears when the Moon moves into the Earth’s shadow and reflects a reddish colour light in the sky. Read on for the details on the lunar eclipse taking place today, including whether the lunar eclipse will be visible from India, and what date and time it will take place.

Total lunar eclipse or Blood Moon 2021 timings


According to points by NASA, the Blood Moon 2021 or the total lunar eclipse of this year will last for three hours and seven minutes in total — including the partial eclipse and total eclipse — though the total lunar eclipse will be visible for about 15 minutes. It will begin at 08:47am UTC (2:17pm IST). However, the full eclipse will appear at 11:11am UTC (4:41pm IST) and will be maximum at 11:18pm UTC (4:48pm IST) and will continue to be at its total state until 11:25am UTC (4:55pm IST). The complete lunar event will be over at 01:49pm UTC (7:19pm IST).

Digi Skynet

Digi Skynet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: